Add Your Heading Text Here

[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”no” equal_height_columns=”no” menu_anchor=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=”” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_position=”center center” background_repeat=”no-repeat” fade=”no” background_parallax=”none” parallax_speed=”0.3″ video_mp4=”” video_webm=”” video_ogv=”” video_url=”” video_aspect_ratio=”16:9″ video_loop=”yes” video_mute=”yes” overlay_color=”” video_preview_image=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” padding_top=”” padding_bottom=”” padding_left=”” padding_right=””][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ layout=”1_1″ background_position=”left top” background_color=”” border_size=”” border_color=”” border_style=”solid” border_position=”all” spacing=”yes” background_image=”” background_repeat=”no-repeat” padding_top=”” padding_right=”” padding_bottom=”” padding_left=”” margin_top=”0px” margin_bottom=”0px” class=”” id=”” animation_type=”” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_direction=”left” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” center_content=”no” last=”no” min_height=”” hover_type=”none” link=””][fusion_text columns=”” column_min_width=”” column_spacing=”” rule_style=”default” rule_size=”” rule_color=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=””]

The Pearland Tourism celebration took place on Thursday, May 9th at the Delores Fenwick Nature Center. Held to commemorate National Travel & Tourism week, the annual event celebrates tourism at the local level with a hospitality awards celebration.

This year recipients of the Janice Van Hooten Customer Service award include:

  • Dustin Shouse, Pei Wei Asian Diner
  • Sara Sotelo, Elements Massage
  • Tammy Shuman, Comfort Suites
  • Tawnya Crawford, Rustique

The Shooting Star award recipients include:

  • Chandra Ibrahim, Spring Hill Suites
  • Donald Hayes, Citizens Depot committee
  • Pearl Theater, Renee and Peter van Nifterik

The 2019 Tourism MVP award recipient is:

  • Manny Patel, Comfort Suites

Also, two organizations received Director’s Awards for their continued contribution to the tourism industry:

  • Pearland Alliance for Arts & Culture – Heidi Wiess
  • Pearland Historical Society – Jerry Johnston, President

In addition, Kim LeBlanc from the Texas Film Commission presented the Pearland Convention & Visitors Bureau with the Texas Film Friendly Certification recognizing the City for its new status a film friendly destination.

Mayor Tom Reid read and presented the proclamation for National Travel & Tourism Week. Tourism plays a significant role in the economic impact of the City of Pearland, by bringing in $142 million in 2017 in visitor spending and $5.5 million in local tax revenues, and $8.1 million in State tax revenues, and employ a total of 1230.